YUM

As I threatened yesterday, I made colcannon for dinner tonight in honor of St Patrick’s Day. Basically, it’s a dish made of mashed potatoes with cabbage mixed in; I prefer sweet potatoes, and like kale much better, so this is how I got the following. Boom goes the kale-cannon!

nom nom nom.

It’s a little blurry; sorry, but I was in a hurry to eat it. Oh my gawd it was so good. I anticipate making this again and again, because it was super-easy and super-filling and super-SUPER-delicious. YUM.

I modified this recipe: http://www.theveganchickpea.com/2012/03/sweet-potato-colcannon.html

Basically, I left out the cast-iron-pan step and used a regular skillet, only using olive oil, salt, and a dash of pepper – I didn’t have shallots, and my garlic seems to have gone bad, and our garlic powder is gone, oops. But it was insanely good just the same. I intended for there to be leftovers; there aren’t. 🙂

In basketball news, my team lost today, pretty badly, which was sad. But another school from Virginia pulled a major upset over the team we would have had to play had we won, which makes me wish even more that we’d won – what fun that would have been to watch! Ah well. I’m somehow still tied for first in my bracket’s group, so I’ll take it where I can get it.

OK, almost time to fall asleep to more basketball… early to bed, early to rise, early to run. So pumped for tomorrow. Boom goes the run-cannon!

4 Responses to YUM

  1. Conor Bofin says:

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day from Dublin, Ireland. Thanks for helping the world think of us over here. It’s nice to be in the green spotlight on one day a year, at least.
    Best,
    Conor

    • kmt4n says:

      Thanks, Conor! I visited your fair city about ten years ago and absolutely loved it, and think of it often. Don’t know how much of the world I’m reaching here, but every little bit helps, right? Cheers to you and yours today!

  2. Caitlin says:

    yay! i’m so happy you enjoyed my recipe ❤

Say Something!

