O HAI

I’ve not written in a while, it seems.

That won’t really change today, as I got a manicure done about an hour ago and I don’t want to ruin it by typing – as it is, this string of words took me about five very long and frustrating minutes. (First-world problems, y’all….) But, I am alive; just busy:

Teaching. Summer language school started last week; it’s intense, but I have a good, smart, fun group of students.

Planting a garden. I think my basil plants – Oliver, Twist, Frick, and Frack – are being eaten by ants, which is frustrating. Yesterday I added Jane Parker, the tomato plant. I hope she does not suffer a similar fate.

Watching baseball. My Nats won their 40th game last night in fantastic fashion. They’re just too much fun to while away an evening with.

Watching my beloved university unravel and then start re-knitting the threads. I’m at UVA, if I’ve not made that clear before. It’s been a bit tense around here, but I have hope that the right outcome will occur.

Not running.  I aggravated a lingering painful tendon a couple of weeks ago, and I took this week off to let it rest. I’ll be out of town this weekend not doing things related to running, so I’ll give it a few more days before I get back on the wagon. I miss running, but my body needed the time off, and I don’t want to start marathon training (ack, soon!) injured.

Eating fruit. It’s summer-cold-food paradise right now: peaches, blueberries, strawberries, plums, apricots, cherries. I love this part of the year, foodwise.

Perfecting par-boiled asparagus. I think I’ve got it now, which is good because I’m tired of smelling asparagus pee.

Soaking up the long rays of the sun at the end of dusk. I really can’t stand hot weather, but I love the wistfulness of the evening light when the shadows start to stretch across the grass. It’s a bittersweet thing, kind of like rhubarb. (I can’t remain sentimental for too long.)

Nor can I keep typing this much without freaking out about my fingernails. I’ll write more once they start chipping. 🙂 Happy summer, y’all.

2 Responses to O HAI

  1. You’re so smart to let that tendon heal before marathon training! Thanks for stopping by by blog to enter the giveaway- glad to connect with you! 🙂

    • kmt4n says:

      We’ll see how smart I end up being about it- I went out for 2 miles today and it felt fine at the time, but as the day’s gone on I’m not feeling optimistic about going again tomorrow. Frustrating! I’m icing and resting the heck out of it, though… fingers crossed!

      Good to ‘meet’ you too; looking forward to reading your stuff!

Say Something!

