119 days!

Yup, the countdown is at T-minus four months. That seems like forever from now, but I know it won’t feel that way soon.

Week One is almost in the books, and I’ve already cheated, hahaha – oops! But hear me out: I was supposed to do a 5-mile pace run on Wednesday, which would have been fine for me to do on the treadmill since it’s been so icky hot and humid gross as of late. But Wednesday dawned cool, slightly less damp, and cloudy. I made a snap decision to run outside instead and not have it be a pace run, because it’s supposed to be much hotter next week and, probably, the week after that, too. This means back-to-back Wednesday pace runs, but I’m okay with that (says me now, HA). And the run was great! In the end I was happy I chose to ‘cheat’ that way- I mean, miles are miles, and I’ll take them however I can get them.

Angry tendon has been decidedly less so this week, probably because I’ve been icing the bejeezus out of it every chance I get, and resting it with elevation as much as I can. Compression is the one thing missing from this, which is starting to make me wonder if I shouldn’t change that. Hmmm. A thing to think on, for sure. Anyway, I did an easy 3-miler yesterday morning and angry tendon didn’t even make so much as a peep. I’d been pretty sore all over going into Thursday morning, but a mile in I felt fantastic, which was odd, but not unwelcome. I had enough left in the tank to sprint the last half-mile, which almost never happens. Tomorrow is an easy 8-miler, during which I might explore the cool city park I found on a bike ride last weekend.

Running at 5am continues to be awesome. I do have a nagging worry about being mauled by a bear leaping out of a tree at me (yes, this is ridiculous because I live in a city, but this is central Virginia – anything can happen), but otherwise, it might be my new favorite time to run. The getting up at 3am when I’ve only managed to fall asleep at 11pm could be a problem, though. Hmmm.

I picked up my new pair of shoes today, too – my old ones are at about their mileage limit (already!), and it’s time to break in the new ones before too long. They’re so white and shiny! Eeeee!

That’s about that, for this week. Not terribly exciting around here; play rehearsals are going well, and baseball is FINALLY back on after what seems like the world’s longest All-Star break. I don’t know what the hell I’m going to do between the end of the World Series and the start of spring training. (Dear every other baseball fan in the world who knows that pain: help?)

It’s been a good week to get back into running. Feels good, man, feels good.

2 Responses to 119 days!

  1. Alex says:

    I know you’ve previously mentioned your Angry Tendon, but I’ve forgotten where it is(what? *I* forgot something? Heavens…). I’ve got tendonitis in both shoulders, and I don’t know if you recall but a few years back I actually tore my rotator cuff on the left side. That was… unpleasant. Considering my job, I’m really afraid it’s going to happen again(I hurt every damn day once I’m done, ugh). Oh, and ever since the tear, I have some seriously limited range of motion in that arm. Oh well. Did I also mention I have 3 bulging discs in my neck? I WIN! lol

    Forget baseball 😀 FOOTBALL SOON!!!

    • kmt4n says:

      Angry Tendon is in my leg, on the inside just behind and above the ankle – the posterior tibial tendon. It’s a bit peeved this morning, which I do not like. I do remember you pulling that rotator cuff, ugh – you know, I’m starting to think, cortisone shots for everyone!

      Football soon indeed. I can’t fathom how I’m going to get anything done when the two coincide… Also, I think I forgot to tell you: chances are quite high I’m going to the Redskins/Giants game in NY in October. I look forward to heckling your team. 🙂

Say Something!

