BEST WEEK EVAR.

Well, not really, but it’s been pretty neat, for two reasons:

1) Pitchers and catchers have reported for the Nats’ spring training (THANK JEEBUS baseball is back because it has been a LONG ten days without football or something like it to tide me over);

2) I booked tickets to London for Saint and I to visit my dear friend Kim for a week in May, after school breaks for the summer. (!!)

So, let me get the “woohoo!” out of my way now, because dang, has all of that been distracting. 🙂

Anyway, this isn’t really much of an update, but, you know. I’m, what, a month and a few days away from my next half-marathon, so I thought I might keep the seething masses informed of how all that is going.

Last time out, I referred to a possible pinched sciatic nerve, and the “icing/massaging/stop running” therapy I’d said I was going to try. I’ve done with regularity, and to very good success, two of those three. I’ll give you a second to guess which two they are.

….Yep. Still haven’t stopped running. It’s so stupid; I want this streak to continue until I die, I think, because – well, I don’t know why, but I know that if I don’t run I go into a very dark mental space, so I keep thinking that even if it’s one mile, at least it’s something. Such is the brain of the addicted runner.

But, here’s the thing: with a regular routine of icing at night, heating pad (and occasionally massaging; I cracked and bought a heating pad, but damned if it’s not some of the best $20 I’ve ever spent) in the morning, and eeeeeaaaaasy and relaxed running, I’ve actually been hurting a whole lot less since my last post. I did take two weeks off of running any distance longer than 4 miles, and filled the gaps with cross-training and skiing, but since the beginning of February I’ve been going longer, slightly longer, still easy, back up to about 30 miles a week with a long run of 9 miles. And I feel great. Granted, my times aren’t what I know I’m capable of – I’m still nursing the idea that a 10:oo/mile is a sprint even though my body tells me we can most certainly go faster – but, but, and this is the important thing, I can still get the distances in and not be wincing in pain. Or, even, slightly frowning in pain. I’ve slowly been able to pick up my runs in the last couple of miles and end feeling like I’ve totally beasted it, and wanting to fist-pump into the air (what, you don’t do that too at the end of a kick-ass run?), which is freakin’ sweet. 

All of this has meant re-tooling my non-existent half-marathon plan somewhat. See, before I got all hurty and whatnot, I tagged this half as a PR race, because it’s on a course that’s flat as a pancake, and I was finally getting below 10:00/mile pace for my really long (read: more than 10 miles) runs. But, since I’ve had to dial back any and all speedwork, I’m now a bit concerned that a PR isn’t going to happen. I’m also more than a bit concerned that I’m going to get into the race, start going, feel great, and decide to gun it to make a PR and hurt myself for serious. I do plan to get my long run up to 13 miles before the race, just to reassure myself that I actually can get the distance before that starts freaking me out too. I have 11 planned for this weekend, barring a two-day skiing jaunt, so we’ll see how that goes.

Anyway, yes, skiing. Has been good; West Virginia has gotten a decent amount of snow – nothing like the resorts in New England got last weekend (shakes fist at sky) (remembers how much it sucked to shovel two feet of snow during Snowpocalypse and Snowmaggedon three years ago and thinks ‘never mind’), but enough to make it well worth a day trip. Teaching has been going well; dissertating has also been going well, so right now I’m sort of in maintenance mode – keepin’ on keepin’ on, pluggin’ away, doin’ what I’m supposed to be doin’ with the occasional bout of I-know-I-shouldn’t-have-another-beer-but-I’m-doing-it-anyway.

Feels good, man, feels good. Word.

2 Responses to BEST WEEK EVAR.

  1. Alex says:

    Eh, look at Ray Lewis tearing his tricep muscles right off the bone. Now there’s some pain for ya. LOL

    Actually, I’m not discounting nerve pain. With the three bad discs in my neck, I managed to further that injury back in July, right about the time I got back from MD. I’m now dealing with damaged nerves that run from my shoulder all the way down to my hand in my right arm. Nerve pain… is the absolute worst. I’m on gabapentin as a pain blocker(it’s specifically for nerve pain, works better than any sort of narcotic drug would) and I also have a muscle relaxer because the pain causes every damn muscle on that side of my body to tense up and get knotted to the point that I want to scream. Or cry. Or both. Simultaneously. This is the second time I’ve dealt with damaged nerves; previously it was in my left arm and mainly affected my hand, which spent about 2 years being almost completely numb. Damaged nerves take forever to heal. :\ I’m really looking forward to 2 years of dealing with this new nerve damage, except it’s actually that other thing where I’m not. 😛 The only true “cure” for me is to have surgery done on my neck, and that is A) cost prohibitive and B) not an absolute guarantee that it’ll be all better. In some cases it’s been known to make the pain issues *worse*. Fail.

    But anyway. If you can can get that worked out and unpinch whatever nerve is being squished, do whatever you have to before any damage is done. Otherwise you’ll be in a hella lot of pain for a long long time. Have you tried physical therapy? That might help a lot.

    • kmt4n says:

      Ugh, no, don’t want to think about muscles tearing off the bone! No thanks, haha.

      I haven’t tried physical therapy, though it’s definitely on my list of things to do if the current routine doesn’t help any. I’m waiting to see how I come out of the race next month before I move towards that, though part of me is terrified of going to a PT and discovering that my entire body needs to be reworked because I’ve messed it up beyond hope. 😛

Say Something!

