I went to London. I ran. I came back from London…

…and I’ve run, but I have a somewhat tenuous relationship with running right now because something weird is going on with my body. (This is nothing that anyone should freak out about, btw. But you know when something just isn’t right? That’s what this is.)

London was great. It was beyond great; it was all of the superlatives you can ever assign to a vacation, and I intend to write about it at great length eventually. Running in London was great, too, and when I got back I had some nice runs before things went weird. That was a little over two weeks ago; I’m seeing two doctors this week (one was pre-scheduled for a follow-up, but the other is a cardiologist), so I hope I can get to the bottom of whatever is going on, because I want things to not be weird. This morning was the first time in a while I’ve felt close to ‘normal’ during a run – like I always do – but I haven’t really had a run lately where I felt strong or good or good-tired during or afterwards. It’s all been blergh or bad or bad-tired or ‘my legs can’t hold me up any more’. I don’t know. I broke my daily running streak on June 1 – this was the one that had been going on since November 21 – and took off June 2 as well, and have run no more than 3 miles at a time since then. I could maybe go further, but I ran an 8-miler two weeks ago and felt like absolute crap.

I may just be exhausted or fatigued or overtrained. I don’t know. I’m supposed to start training for the Marine Corps Marathon at the end of this month, and I want to feel normal again by then, but I’m afraid I won’t, and that irritates me because I was just trying to build a base before training begins so I can run more miles during training and finish stronger and faster. I was running 30-35mile/week weeks without any issues; these first two weeks of June, I’ll be lucky to hit 16mile/week weeks.

Blergh. This sucks. I’m sure I’ll have more to write after I see the doctors, but for now, I’m just wondering what the hell is going on. Didn’t Tom Petty sing a song about the waiting being the hardest part…?

2 Responses to I went to London. I ran. I came back from London…

  1. Hi, I hope everything is ok. Lot’s of people seem to be writing about having the running blahs lately. Even me. It’s almost summer and I have next to 0 motivation.
    I have several races coming up and I’m not even thinking about PRs.
    Maybe my mind has stepped back for me and “we” are just going to have fun at the next few races and not work so hard. Maybe I’m really just lazy.
    Hope everything turns out ok. Maybe you just need more rest or to change your diet.

    • kmt4n says:

      Yeah, I’ve noticed that- I wonder if it’s because there are fewer races in the summer, and without the motivation of training, the blahs creep in? I sort of felt some blahs last year between my half and the training for my first marathon, but it was nowhere near as negative as this.

      I did have a better run this morning, though, all things considered. Thanks for your thoughts! We’ll see how things go after doctor visits this week.

Say Something!

