Just dropping in to say hi… and what happened to my 2013 goal(s)?

I got swallowed by Thanksgiving, the end of the semester, and Christmas, so I’m just dropping in to say HI!… and Happy New Year, while I’m briefly here. I’ve not been in my house in ten days; that’s where I am now, but I’m leaving again in a little while to hit the road again until the 1st, at which point I am going to finally enjoy sleeping in my own bed for the first time in what will seem like forever.

Non-running-wise, life is good; there’s not much new to report, though I did get some neat running-related things for Christmas, the most awesome of which is a pair of Wigwam Ironman socks that got me through 13.6 miles of completely rain-soaked running yesterday with nary a blister, even after I splashed through giant puddles by accident at mile 0.5. I love me my Balegas, but these may be my new go-to socks once those crap out. I got some nice beer, too, most of which is gone but was so deliciously worth drinking – I’m looking at you, Scaldis Noel.

Running-wise, life is also good; I’m still enjoying cold-weather, pre-dawn runs (and I got to watch the sun rise on Christmas morning when I had the clear sky with stars and Venus and the moon all to myself, which was lovely), and I’ve made it to the end of 2013 injury-free and generally pleased with my running at the moment. Of course, I say this with one short 3-miler left for tomorrow, which is when I’m sure I’ll finally manage to get hit by a car during a run, but barring that, I’ll finish this year with-

Well, wait. Let me hold you in competely gimmicky and fabricated suspense for a second: What were my 2013 running goals, anyway?

From my only January post: “Sub-25:00 5k, Sub-2 hour half-marathon, Sub-5 hour marathon.(Oh, and, um, not get hurt. Hmmm….)”

I’m happy to say that I accomplished all three of those goals, with a 23:58 5k PR, a 1:59 half-marathon PR, and a 4:40 marathon PR. I didn’t set a 10k goal because I wasn’t sure if I’d race one in 2013; I didn’t, so that’s one of my 2014 goals. I also took time off when I felt hurt, and have not had any issues since June when I started training for the Marine Corps Marathon. So, yay me!

While I’m at it, why not set those goals off the top of my head? Hmmm. I think this year, after my March marathon, I’d like to take some time off and just run for fun, instead of always being so focused on training for something. I’d also like to get better at the 5k and 10k distances, so I’m going to say that I’d like a sub-22:00 5k, a sub-55:00 10k, and only doing a half or another full if it’s an offer I can’t refuse.

So! Now that you’ve read this far, why was I holding you in suspense a little while ago? Well, at some point earlier this year, possibly during the Super Bowl or some other such football-watching event where I may have been drinking beer and running my mouth off, I told Saint that I could totally run more miles in 2013 than the NFL’s regular-season leading rusher would run yards. The regular season concluded yesterday, and the leader was LeSean McCoy, with (according to ESPN.com) 1,607 yards. In 2013, counting tomorrow’s run, I (will) have run… 1,511 miles. Dang! So close! Way closer than last year, anyway, when Adrian Peterson outran me by a lot more. So, here’s another goal: I will try again to outrun the leading NFL rusher during the regular season, and I will try to break 1,750 miles for the year.

I leave you with that; what are your goals for 2014? However you choose to usher it in, I hope it’s safe and happy for you. Cheers to the New Year!

2 Responses to Just dropping in to say hi… and what happened to my 2013 goal(s)?

  1. piratebobcat says:

    Great job! Cheers to you too!

Say Something!

