Cue the Aerosmith: I’m back in the saddle again!

– and it feels so good!

I enjoyed a long, luxuriously lazy week of recovery last week, and didn’t run a single step. I didn’t even so much as glance at my running shoes, and I felt not a drop of guilt about it. It was glorious, really – I caught up on sleep, was able to hang out with some friends, and stayed up a little later than usual. Buuuuut…. But. By Sunday, the tiny little voice in my head was back: don’t you want to join those people enjoying the lovely weather by heading out for a few miles?

I ignored the voice until last night, when I made up my mind to go for an easy run this morning before work (old habits die hard, apparently :-)). So, I rolled out of bed at 4:30, got dressed, took a few sips of water, and set out for a slightly humid, slightly warm 4.4 miles.

GLORIOUS. It felt so freaking good to get back out there, and it was like I’d hardly missed a step. Forcing myself to rest did me a world of good, both physically and mentally. Also helping is the fact that I signed up for a 5k on the 19th (yeah, that didn’t take long, ha!), though 90% of the reason I signed up is that this is the so-called Pi Miler (3.14 miles; this is what happens when your university’s Engineering School puts on a race) that offers lots and lots of free, delicious pie to all finishers. I won my age group at this race last year, because I was the only one in it, but the pie was more awesome than that. I have no goals for this race, other than to eat at least one slice of every type of pie.

So, yes: I’m back! I’ll be taking it slow this week, probably working my way back up to 4-5 days a week of running, and I plan to get back to the gym next week to start lifting again. And, before too long, the bike rides shall resume… oh yes. Glorious.

Like I said: reunited with running and it feels so good! Woohoo!

Say Something!

